There’s a World I Know.

There’s a world I know,with ostriches and fairies,disastrous flowers and massive chickens.There’s swords and silver birds,conifer trees too.There’s blank joy.Ducks form the beginning of life.In majestic oceans of lemonade,rainbow fishes swim about.There are pigs that explode,and come together again.Polishes for dirtiness,mature orcs, eating ugliness,despairing desolate decorations,steaming water babies,vegetarians with sparks of hope.And once I reached down to someFiery lights over golden treasureAnd there were rainbow jewels.In the air,Fluffy clouds of candyfloss,which hold eagle eyries within,but I couldn’t find the egg, in the nest.

One thought on “There’s a World I Know.

  1. It’s an amazing flight of fancy and imagination with some lovely images – I love the rainbow fishes in majestic oceans of lemonade; and the massive chickens; and particularly like the steaming water babies! Good alliteration in that line: despairing desolate decorations (reminds me of Penge High Street’s efforts at Christmas)
    I also like the lines “Once I reached down to some/ fiery lights over golden treasure/ and there were rainbow jewels/In the air ” – I imagine the voice of the poem to be very high up, above this strange fantasy world of exploding pigs and candyfloss clouds.
    You’ve played with words and let them dance and fizz – there’s a Welsh poet called Dylan Thomas who did the same thing – e.g. in a poem called “Fern Hill” – you might like it.

Leave a comment